



July 13, 2017

The Honorable Neal Dunn United States House of Representatives 423 Cannon House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

Dear Congressman Dunn:

722 12th Street N.W.I write in support of the "The Refund Rights for Taxpayers Act," legislation that ensures
taxpayers and the IRS have the same amount of time to correct any mistake that resulted
in the payment of either too much or too few in taxes.

Washington, D.C.

20005

T: (202)785-0266

F:(202)785-0261

www.atr.org

Under current law, taxpayers have just three years to claim a refund from the IRS when they overpay. If they fail to claim the refund in this time period, any money becomes the property of the government.

On the other hand, the IRS has a decade to correct any mistake made when assessing taxes paid. This is patently unfair. The typical American filing their taxes has a basic understanding of the tax code, yet they are given far less time to correct any mistakes than federal bureaucrats whose job is to audit taxpayers.

The Refund for Taxpayers Act addresses this discrepancy by treating taxpayers and the IRS the same. This legislation allows taxpayers to claim overpaid taxes from the IRS for seven years. It also reduces the time the IRS has to collect additional taxes from taxpayers to seven years.

The IRS is one of the most unpopular government agencies. In part, this is because taxpayers feel the agency does not treat them with respect.

The change to law proposed in this legislation will guarantee that bureaucrats are held to the same standard as everyday Americans. Reducing the time period the IRS has to collect back taxes will also make clear that the agency is held to the high standard expected by the American people.

Members of Congress can demonstrate their commitment to reforming the IRS and protecting taxpayers by supporting and co-sponsoring the Refund Rights for Taxpayers Act. This legislation is a simple, yet important solution that ensures taxpayers and the IRS are held to the same standard.

Onward,

Grover G. Norquist President, Americans for Tax Reform