Press Releases

WASHINGTON, D.C. – Speaker of the House Mike Johnson recently appointed Congressman Neal Dunn, M.D. (Florida-02) to the newly created House Task Force on Artificial Intelligence (AI). The goal of the Task Force is to explore how Congress can ensure America continues to lead the world in AI innovation while working to safeguard the nation against emerging threats.

“It’s a great honor to be appointed to the House Task Force on Artificial Intelligence. Ensuring America maintains its competitive edge is of the utmost importance, especially considering the instability in key areas overseas,” said Congressman Dunn. “I’m grateful that Speaker Johnson recognized my interest in bolstering innovation and improving our nation’s cybersecurity to protect our nation. There’s a wide array of experience between my newly appointed colleagues and myself. I’m looking forward to working with this team to address the rise of artificial intelligence.”

The Task Force will partner with committees of jurisdiction to produce a comprehensive report that will include guiding principles, forward-looking recommendations, and bipartisan policy proposals.

Speaker Johnson and Leader Hakeem Jeffries appointed twenty-four members to the Task Force which will be jointly led by Chair Jay Obernolte (CA-23) and Co-Chair Ted Lieu (CA-36).

The twenty-three Congressional members that will join Congressman Dunn on the AI Task Force are as follows:

Rep. Jay Obernolte, CA

Rep. Darrell Issa, CA

Rep. French Hill, AR

Rep. Michael Cloud, TX

Rep. Ben Cline, VA

Rep. Kat Cammack, FL

Rep. Scott Franklin, FL

Rep. Michelle Steel, CA

Rep. Eric Burlison, MO

Rep. Laurel Lee, FL

Rep. Rick McCormick, GA


Rep. Ted Lieu, CA

Rep. Anna Eshoo, CA

Rep. Yvette Clarke, N.Y.

Rep. Bill Foster, IL

Rep. Suzanne Bonamici, OR

Rep. Ami Bera, CA

Rep. Don Beyer, VA

Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez, N.Y.

Rep. Haley Stevens, MI

Rep. Sara Jacobs, CA

Rep. Valerie Foushee, N.C.

Rep. Brittany Pettersen, CO